The Sparrow That Would Not Fall

Very, very early in the morning
I left and went traveling
Among the silent stars and galaxies.
It is the best and possibly
The only time this may be done.

Melting through the walls, emerging right
Into the cool last breath of night
I hovered briefly above silent trees
And listened.  If you listen, I believe,
In darkness, alert, alone
Beneath watchful stars, patient moon,
You may hear the sounds
Of Eternity’s very own love song.

A song that sings the whole story of creation.
The thought that is the thing;
One movement of a billion harmonies
Of age, silence, light and gravity
Of every thought conceived, word spoken.

Satisfied, I left then and sailed,
A breath exhaled,
Beyond the atmosphere, distance, fear
Beyond thought, emotion, idea
Into the wild ranks of all the stars

Beyond the oldest of them all I flew or fell
Into soundless distance simple and elemental.
Stopping there at last I could not tell
Where I was held by what confronted me:
That flower opening before a single honey bee
That infant’s charmed and charming eye
And, most beautiful of all,
The sparrow that would not fall.

10 responses to “The Sparrow That Would Not Fall

  1. While I was reading this I was thinking about when we used to play princess in the backyard in the evening and the sparrows used to chirp when it was warm. 🙂

  2. While I was reading this I was thinking about when we used to play princess in the backyard in the evening and the sparrows used to chirp when it was warm. 🙂

    • Thank you, Julia. Some of my favorite memories are of playing Princess with you and your sister in the backyard, and fighting off all of the many monsters you could dream up. It is funny how real imagination can make things seem, isn’t it?

  3. A very fine, well-paced and beautiful poem, Peter. I like the honey bee, the child’s eye, and the sparrow that would not fall.

  4. Who is this Julia? Does MaryEllen know of this. Truly it is scandalous the way she writes you. By the way, you have wonderful command of the comma.

    • You spelled my wife’s name incorrectly. Julia is my grand daughter, and her writing is not scandalous. I appreciate a man who can appreciate the correct use of the comma.

  5. Also, did we need very, very at the beginning. It may be overkill.

  6. This is lovely Peadar. Satisfying, but delicate too.

Leave a Reply

