Tumble All The Way To Doggerel

(One Half an Argument)

I'll forego descent into mere prose
And tumble all the way to doggerel
While writing this below. I'll hold my nose
While I, against my better self, scribble.

Why doubt what you believe you should do?
The way of doubt is never brave;
Hesitating, wavering between this and that
Wondering whether to stir the pot
Or to add a little salt to already seasoned stew
Is no chef's move, but churl's or base caitiff knave's.

Step out boldly, bright before the darkling world!
You be the light your know yourself to be!
What matter if you crunch the smelly toes
Of the remnant few who foolishly believe
That things might just not be what you propose?
Propose?!  "Propositions," you say, "be damned!
I know this as well as I know I am."

Funny that, I thought, when it popped into my mind
And I hope you see the humor in the line.

Anyway, I think your bravery here well done
And hope you may find comfort in your One
Along with all the myriad Ones who
Themselves find comfort while proclaiming, "You
Believe in you, and I'll believe in me."

There's satisfaction free of anxiety.
Narcissism means one never says "I'm sorry;
Never feels forsaken, never wrong,
Never needs contrition or reform.

Brave light bearer be while worlds of selves
Fluttering moth-like above darkness, hell,
Eternal sing, "No one makes a fool of me!
For where I sow there I reap."
Heaps of straw upon flames they cannot see
Dark cherubim whose hymn a curdling shriek.
3 responses to “Tumble All The Way To Doggerel

  1. You have a lot of skill.
    imaginative writing

  2. There’s a grand piece of writing Peadhar Ban! To change a heart rather than to prove oneself right, there’s a task and a half, neh? But how powerful!

    “Brave light bearer be while worlds of selves
    Fluttering moth-like above darkness, hell,
    Eternal sing, “No one makes a fool of me!
    For where I sow there I reap.”
    Heaps of straw upon flames they cannot see
    Dark cherubim whose hymn a curdling shriek”

    Powerful, and just a tad spooky..

Leave a Reply

